Kickstart the Week(end) with Celestial Falcon #1: Supernatural Superhero Comic Book

By: Nicole D’Andria From Comic Frontline’s very own Chris Dibuduo and Brant Fowler, Celestial Falcon is a supernatural superhero comic book about a group of teenagers on a quest to vanquish a dark evil. And the fate of the entire world is on the line! Celestial Falcon is a coming-of-age superhero story following Chris and his group of friends. They discover an ancient power, leading to the story of Celestial Falcon! There is even a deluxe version available, which is an extra-sized 28 interiors page with an addition four page…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with the Argo 5 Volume 2 Trade Paperback Collection

By: Nicole D’Andria The super team Argo 5 has returned! Having previously talked to the creative team on “Kickstart the Week(end)”, these superheroes are back at it again, taking on aliens, demons, mythological deities and, scariest of all, bad dates. Argo 5 is led by the super-powered Gladiatra. Members include her boyfriend Shazrath (the Maltese god of strength), Blue Dynamo (powered by the Blue Star), Chain Reaction (a martial arts master), and Kasira (a half-human, half-genie). They’re funded by billionaire Denny Dennis, who also gets the team their very own…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with Red Xmas 1-3: A horror/comedy Christmas comic for adults

By: Nicole D’Andria Santa Claus is coming to town… and all the children better hide because he’s out for blood! In the third Kickstarter for Red Xmas, readers get to enjoy three issues of the mature horror/comedy series this holiday season! I spoke with the writer and artist about how this comic book brings joy to the world! After Mrs. Claus dies in a toy accident, Santa plans on making the children pay and starts by attacking the town of Christmas, Vermont! While FBI agent Ellie Tewskberry tries (and fails)…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with THE GOOD FIGHT: A Peaceful Stand Against Bigotry and Racism

By: Nicole D’Andria An important anthology collecting more than 40 stories, THE GOOD FIGHT has an all-star roster of comics creators taking a stand against hatred, bigotry and racism. Be a part of this peaceful stand that includes the likes of Mark Waid (Daredevil, Captain America), JH Williams III (Promethea, Batwoman) and Greg Pak (Planet Hulk, John Wick). I interviewed the founding editor and a couple of the creators in this latest “Kickstart the Week” feature. THE GOOD FIGHT collects over 200 pages of original material that cover a ton…

Read More

Kickstart the Week with Book of Lyaxia #1

By: Nicole D’Andria In this latest Kickstarter, see every mythology explored in Book of Lyaxia #1! Plus enjoy an in-depth interview with the creative team of this mythical adventure. The Book of Lyaxia universe includes every pantheon, from Greek to Egyptian. This particular book focuses on the twin brothers Deimos and Chronos as they explore this chaotic world. They’ll deal with themes of family, love and war, as well as finding your place in the world and discovering your destiny. And in this world, doing good is much more dangerous…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with The Theory: A Twisted Sci-Fi Series

By: Nicole D’Andria Today we have a twisted collection of science-fiction stories in The Theory—a spin-off of the cult hit Twisted Dark. I interviewed writers and part of the art team for the comic series, which hearkens back to The Twilight Zone and constructs a Black Mirror vibe. The Theory is a collection of three interconnected and thrilling sci-fi plots with twist endings. In one plot we follow astroarchaeologist Linda, whose job involves finding dead civilizations and learning from them so humankind can avoid extinction. In the second plot, we…

Read More

Kickstart the Week with Moon Girl graphic novel – Retro futurism! Ray guns! Pew Pew!

By: Nicole D’Andria Spinning out of the 9-page story starring Moon Girl in The Not Forgotten Anthology, the retro-futuristic world of Moon Girl returns in this brand new standalone graphic novel! I spoke with the creator and writer to learn more about this public domain character. Moon Girl reimagines the public domain character from the 1940s in a PG rated sci-fi adventure. The artwork mimics stained and faded pages, thought bubbles, and ray guns from the golden age comics, combining them with a modern era’s taste for fast pacing. Journey…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with The Leaders of the Free World

By: Nicole D’Andria The Leaders of the Free World introduces a diverse team of superheroes located around the globe. I interview the creator of the series about his brand of superpowered beings who are just beginning their journey. “The Godsend,” a group of super beings, come to Earth in The Leaders of the Free World and bestow superpowers onto the people. However, these powers lead to greed, corruption and destruction, which forces the Godsend to team up with the United Nations and bring order to the world. They now enforce…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with Mordecai Crowley’s Journal of Interplanetary Travels

By: Nicole D’Andria This week, go on an interplanetary journey with Dr. Mordecai Crowley. In his all-ages space adventure, readers will discover new alien species and witness strange happenings along as Crowley researches outer space in Mordecai Crowley’s Journal of Interplanetary Travels. The 100 page hardcover volumes of this story are set in a retro-futuristic past and feature an illustrated journal format. In the first volume, Dr. Mordecai finds and documents new alien species; he continues his search in the second volume, and comes upon some mysterious happenings as well.…

Read More

Kickstart the Week with Super! Returns from the Grave!

By: Nicole D’Andria The ongoing superhero series Super! returns—this time with a horde of zombies along for the action-packed, comedy-fueled ride! I spoke with several key members of the creative team about their superpowered comic. In the superhero world of Super!, superpowers and costumed crimefighters are commonplace, and the gritty “realism” you may see in DC’s Blockbusters is replaced with lighthearted jokes about common superhero tropes and real reactions to a world backed to the brim with supers. Now on their seventh issue, this superhero team has risen from the…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with Heroes International – Ongoing Comic Book Series

By: Nicole D’Andria A superhero team like you’ve never seen before… because they suck at it! Heroes International is Short Fuse Media’s and Freestyle Komics latest foray into the world of superheroes. I interview the creative team about their publisher and the new super comic. This new ongoing series takes place years after tragedy struck in “The Zero Event.” That’s when all of the superhero population disappeared and newly powered superheroes starting to come out and fight the crime left behind. A division of the government called the Extra Human…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with The S Factor: A new reality for superhero detective comics

By: Nicole D’Andria Ever wanted to watch The Bachelor, but with superheroes and something (even more) sinister brewing behind the scenes? You’ll get that and more with the Kickstarter for The S Factor graphic novel. I talk with creator/writer Samuel George London about his foray into the superhero dating game! Inspired by The Bachelor and advertised as perfect for fans of Jupiter’s Legacy and Batman: A Death in the Family, The S Factor is a 92 page one-shot superhero detective comic. The story focuses on former sidekick Miles aka Greyfox,…

Read More

Kickstart the Week with The Chimp With The Brown Hat Vol #1: The First Banana Western

By: Nicole D’Andria It’s The Good, the Bad and the Ugly meets Planet of the Apes! Enjoy the sci-fi western, The Chimp With The Brown Hat, starring… a talking chimp that wears a brown hat! I speak with writer Nathaniel Gold about his creation. The first volume of The Chimp With The Brown Hat collects the first four issues of the series, with over 100 pages of content. This sci-fi western is written and illustrated by Nathaniel Gold. It also includes an introduction by hall of fame science-fiction artist and…

Read More

Kickstart the Week(end) with Milky #1 (of 4) – a fresh comedy/sci-fi comic book

By: Nicole D’Andria Emotions run high in Milky! A combination of comedy and sci-fi, the series follows a milkman and an ignorant group of people banding together during an alien invasion. I spoke with the creator about the alien-infested world of Milky. Vikinder Singh, nicknamed “Milky,” is the milkman that has been working in Crafton Hill for years. He’s delivering milk to everyone, from a racist old lady to his lifelong crush Lucy Bell. When he finally gets the courage to confess his feelings, Lucy and every other woman is…

Read More